In Wisconsin, child support is calculated using a set of guidelines published in the Wisconsin Administrative Code. These guidelines were formerly published in Chapter HSS 80 and DWD 40, and many people still refer to them as the “HSS 80” or “DWD40″ guidelines”.
With the reorganization of the Wisconsin Administrative Code, these guidelines are now in the regulations for the Department of Children and Families, found in Chapter DCF 150. You can see DCF 150 and the rest of the Administrative Code at the Wisconsin Legislature Legislative Reference Bureau’s Administrative Code web page.
In general, the guidelines require a person paying child support to pay a percentage of their gross income (income before deductions) as child support. The guidelines are:
* 17% for 1 child
* 25% for 2 children
* 29% for 3 children
* 31% for 4 children
* 34% for 5 or more children
DCF 150 provides formulas for calculating child support for situations where all the children live with one parent, where they spend substantial time with both parents, or where each parent has some of the children.
There are online sites that allow you to calculate your child support by filling in certain information. You can also get spreadsheets that will help you do the calculations, as well as other information, at the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families website.
For payment information on your child support account, you should call the Wisconsin Child Support Collection Trust at 1-800-991-5530. You should have your PIN number ready when you call.
Child support payments should be sent to:
Wisconsin Support Collection Trust Fund
PO Box 74400
Milwaukee, WI 53274-0400
To ensure that your payment is properly applied, you should include the appropriate payment coupon.
There is a $65 Receiving and Disbursing fee due with the first child support payment each year. This is a processing fee charged by the state.
For child support enforcement services, you may contact your lawyer, or you may contact the Green County Child Support Enforcement Agency at:
Child Support Enforcement
Green County Justice Center
2841 6th Street
Monroe, WI 53566
Phone: (608) 328-9460
For more information, try the Department of Children and Families’ web page Child Support Information for Parents & Guardians
Terminating Support at Age 18 or High School Graduation
The obligation to pay child support continues until age 18, or until age 19 if the child is pursuing a high school diploma or equivalent.
To terminate support at that time, the payor can hire an attorney to do the necessary paperwork, or may contact the Green County Child Support Agency and ask that the child support order be terminated. The Child Support Agency must be provided with proof that the child is 18 years old and has graduated from high school, or the date the child will be graduating.
While current support for the specific child will end, any support obligation for other children will continue. In addition, any wage assignment will not end until all debts have been paid in full, including receiving and disbursing fees.
For general information on child support enforcement, you may want to view the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families page “What Happens If I Don’t Pay Child Support?”. For more child support information on the web, check out the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families’ Child Support page.
Green County Wage Information
When the earnings of a person who is responsible for child support cannot easily be determined by the court, the average wage for Green County may be used. The Workforce Profile for all Wisconsin Counties can be found at the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development.